Prospers.ORG Prosper Forum
November 20, 2008, 07:03:55 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to Prospers.ORG
 
  Wiki   Forum home   Help Search Groups Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 6   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: A new Victoria Crawford?  (Read 1761 times)
112233
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 6334



View Profile WWW

Ignore
« Reply #15 on: September 17, 2008, 12:42:25 AM »

Here's another possible.  Hypen in the screen name.  Photo with out of focus background.  (This time its a picture of a dog)  Similar one sentence description.
http://www.prosper.com/lend/listing.aspx?listingID=396307

http://www.greatdogsite.com/breeds/details/Newfoundland/
Logged

112233
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 6334



View Profile WWW

Ignore
« Reply #16 on: September 17, 2008, 01:00:18 AM »


credit-daydream
http://www.prosper.com/lend/listing.aspx?listingID=397830

bill-daydream
http://www.prosper.com/lend/listing.aspx?listingID=397316

I dont see any other connection, but it is still an odd coincidence
Logged

ira01
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 4166


View Profile

Ignore
« Reply #17 on: September 17, 2008, 01:04:10 AM »

This thread should be moved to the Lobby.
Logged
112233
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 6334



View Profile WWW

Ignore
« Reply #18 on: September 17, 2008, 01:21:20 AM »

the information in these listings feel as if they are being automatically created using software. I wonder if prosper is piloting something new
Logged

ira01
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 4166


View Profile

Ignore
« Reply #19 on: September 17, 2008, 01:25:54 AM »

the information in these listings feel as if they are being automatically created using software. I wonder if prosper is piloting something new

Making fraudulent listings???  These listings have real lender money on them.
Logged
112233
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 6334



View Profile WWW

Ignore
« Reply #20 on: September 17, 2008, 01:45:42 AM »

the information in these listings feel as if they are being automatically created using software. I wonder if prosper is piloting something new

Making fraudulent listings???  These listings have real lender money on them.
Im not necessarily suggesting the listings are fraudulent. Im saying they may be trying a new way of creating them.

For example, instead of allowing a borrower to type in a description, they could be asking them to select reasons why they want the loan from a list and allowing the software to generate the listing description.

However, I cant say for sure this is what they've done. At this point, I'm just noting the listings feel as if they are being auto-created in some manner.
Logged

ira01
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 4166


View Profile

Ignore
« Reply #21 on: September 17, 2008, 12:13:13 PM »

the information in these listings feel as if they are being automatically created using software. I wonder if prosper is piloting something new

Making fraudulent listings???  These listings have real lender money on them.
Im not necessarily suggesting the listings are fraudulent. Im saying they may be trying a new way of creating them.

For example, instead of allowing a borrower to type in a description, they could be asking them to select reasons why they want the loan from a list and allowing the software to generate the listing description.

However, I cant say for sure this is what they've done. At this point, I'm just noting the listings feel as if they are being auto-created in some manner.

Although anything is possible, how likely is it that Prosper is only testing this with $5K loans from Massachusettes borrowers with hypenated screen names?
Logged
DCS
Full Member
***
Posts: 212


View Profile

Ignore
« Reply #22 on: September 17, 2008, 02:22:29 PM »

The hyphenated names are apparently a product of Prosper's new name generator.

Loan Chimp blogged about it:
http://warmnfuzzyprosperblog.blogspot.com/2008/09/fun-with-prospers-screen-name-generator.html
Logged
112233
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 6334



View Profile WWW

Ignore
« Reply #23 on: September 17, 2008, 02:29:35 PM »

.. to stop lenders from finding borrower deadbeat activities
Logged

Nora_Lenderbee
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1766


View Profile

Ignore
« Reply #24 on: September 17, 2008, 02:39:35 PM »

The hyphenated names are apparently a product of Prosper's new name generator.

Loan Chimp blogged about it:
http://warmnfuzzyprosperblog.blogspot.com/2008/09/fun-with-prospers-screen-name-generator.html

Is this for real??? it's not April!
Logged
DCS
Full Member
***
Posts: 212


View Profile

Ignore
« Reply #25 on: September 17, 2008, 02:45:40 PM »

Is this for real??? it's not April!

I just logged out and hit "Join Now" a few times.

The screen names it gave me:
payment-booster
market-saver
bazaar-hotshot576
debt-exchanger

I had wondered why on earth one borrower had selected funds-taker5 as a screen name, now I know Prosper suggested it to her!
Logged
DCS
Full Member
***
Posts: 212


View Profile

Ignore
« Reply #26 on: September 17, 2008, 02:47:47 PM »

lol, it just suggested listing-missle and treasure-squirrel.
Logged
Nora_Lenderbee
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1766


View Profile

Ignore
« Reply #27 on: September 17, 2008, 03:09:18 PM »


generosity-baby
wealth-butterfly (say, didn't she default back in 2007?)
profit-butterfly
credit-candy871 (bet you can't borrow just one!)
wampum-dancer (for tips?)
dough-ferret (sorry, illegal in California)

Are they f***ing kidding???
Logged
DakotahFury
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2920



View Profile

Ignore
« Reply #28 on: September 17, 2008, 03:13:51 PM »

Randomly generated credit-statistics can't be far behind...
Logged
Urbi_et_Orbi
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2936



View Profile

Ignore
« Reply #29 on: September 17, 2008, 03:16:29 PM »

Wow - Prosper sinks to yet another new low.
Logged

"Oh, you hate your job? Why didn't you say so? There's a support group for that. It's called Everybody and they meet at the bar."   --Drew Carey
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 6   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.7 | SMF © 2006-2008, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!