Prospers.ORG Prosper Forum

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Prospers.ORG!   Login here

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: I everyone, I'm new to P2P  (Read 42436 times)

riderkb

• View Profile
I everyone, I'm new to P2P
« on: August 24, 2009, 11:51:12 am »

I know one person (a friend of a friend) who dabbles in P2P lending and it got me interested. I'm considering lending a few hundred dollars on Prosper to get my feet wet.

Urbi_et_Orbi

• "Lock Him Up" - Suspended Since 9/3/2009
    • View Profile
Re: I everyone, I'm new to P2P
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2009, 11:55:28 am »

Welcome to Org.  Please take a few days to read and learn before you do anything.  First of all, make sure you understand the implications of Prosper's S-1 filing with the SEC.

There are plenty of people here who would be happy to share their knowledge with you.
Mothandrust: "Why's he off the ballot in Colorado but it's OK for the other 48 states and Hawaii to vote for him"
https://www.prospers.org/forum/index.php?topic=37264.msg807090#msg807090

cubbiesnextyr

• Suspended since 12/13/07
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2009, 12:10:17 pm »

Welcome!  Please use the search function liberally, but if you can't find an answer to your question, feel free to post a question.  The chances of someone here knowing the answer is approaching 100%.

Beerbud1

« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2009, 12:11:52 pm »

Welcome as well. Take the second posters advice and read these forums thoroughly if you want to hang onto your money.

ira01

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 24, 2009, 12:36:09 pm »

Welcome.  As Urbi said, please take some time to read the wealth of information available on this site and others.  I have a few questions for you:

1)  Do you realize that about 40% of all Prosper loans ever made are or will be delinquent?  See Fred93's highly informative graphs here -- http://www.prospers.org/forum/fred93_blog_08012009_late_loan_stats_and_the_sad_legal_test_joke-t15121.0.html