Prospers.ORG Prosper Forum

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Prospers.ORG!   Login here

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MERRY CHRISTMAS! ALL  (Read 4000 times)

joefoolz

• View Profile
MERRY CHRISTMAS! ALL
« on: December 25, 2010, 06:44:36 pm »

Hi all, i'm relatively new to prosper.   I've been avg 30 bux a month into prosper for all of 2010. Any advice for a new lender?

Beerbud1

Re: MERRY CHRISTMAS! ALL
« Reply #1 on: December 25, 2010, 06:47:58 pm »

Yes! Take a break.

Urbi_et_Orbi

• "Lock Him Up" - Suspended Since 9/3/2009
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2010, 06:56:22 pm »

Welcome to Org.  Beerbud is right.  Let your loans sit and soak for a bit - and see how your loan-picking skills hold up over time, before you get too excited about your projected returns.

Also, we're going to assume that you have read (and generally understand) the risk-disclosures in Prosper's prospectus.
Mothandrust: "Why's he off the ballot in Colorado but it's OK for the other 48 states and Hawaii to vote for him"
https://www.prospers.org/forum/index.php?topic=37264.msg807090#msg807090

joefoolz

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 25, 2010, 07:28:13 pm »

Yes, my first loan was back in june 08. Majority of notes are 25$ increments.  I let it soak for 2yrs.  Still current. So when the quiet period ended , I started to buy more notes. 

My foray into prosper was due to curiosity.   

As I have read the discussions in this forum, there are apparently plenty of negative issues that people have expressed.

I try to see both sides of the coin.   

My views coming into prosper expecting 100% loss.  I made sure to pick all my applicants   with low scores.  Predominantly HR's  in the 30% rates.

So far, I have 20 notes that are current, 2 paid, and 2 that are late.   

Since Urbi and beerbud  are saying to curb my enthusiasm,   I'll just do the minimum $25min /month and reinvest the payments. 

As a whole, I'm delighted that people actually paid.